Loretta Fox Memorial Garden at Murphys Library

Murphys Library has offered a scholarship to local high school graduates since 2011, in honor of a devoted patron, Loretta Fox.

Requirements for this award include strong performance (or marked improvement) in English & Language Arts, and a 500-word essay. Ideal applicants are planning to attend a four-year college or university, as this $2000 scholarship is paid incrementally: $500 each year, up to four years, with proof of enrollment.

Learn more about Loretta Fox Memorial Scholarship recipients at the branch website.

Calaveras County Friends of the Library awarded its first scholarship in 2016 to Bret Harte graduate Hope Cooper. Hope plans to attend UC Berkeley to major in International Studies with an emphasis on business.

Hope's application was among the submissions that year for the Murphys Library scholarship, and prompted the County Friends to work on developing their own scholarship program. As well as supporting high school graduates, FOTL hopes to offer a scholarship option for older students returning to higher education. 

Angels Camp FOTL will award their first scholarship in 2017, to a graduating Bret Harte HS Senior who lives in the 95222 or 95221 zip code.

In addition to the standard Bret Harte Union High School District procedures, this award requires a 2.5+ GPA, short essay on "Why I Love My Local Library," and a valid Calaveras Library Card!

Copyright Calaveras County Friends of the Library

Hope Cooper, 2016

Scholarship Opportunities